Cameras and Lenses

eBay Warning



I'm sure that nobody who is a regular contributor to the forum would fall for it, but some of you will have noticed a number of Swarovski ELs offered for as little as $500 on eBay in the past two weeks. The person posting the listings is asking buyers to contact him directly at various e-mail addresses, and in some listings he says not to bother using the "ask seller a question" feature. There are other bizarre features of the listings, but all of them are consistent in style.

All of these have been posted by a person who has accessed accounts of legitimate eBay users. I suspect that the eBayers whose accounts are being used responded to some type of bogus e-mail requesting them to "update" their eBay registration information. There have been many of those lately, sent even to e-mail addresses for which there are no eBay accounts (I know this because we received several where I work).

I am sure that many people have already made payment to the crook, who is also posting listings for all sorts of high-end electronic equipment.

By describing the situation, I hope to save somebody from losing their money.


It's been discussed a few times actually, though I could only find this one thread:

http://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=39322

I hope not too many people have fallen for that, but I haven't heard a single one here that has.



Click here to read entire thread and the replies to this message!

Back to Home Page!